## CYIFF 2010 AWARDS - 5th CYPRUS INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL

• The "Best Cinematography in a Short film" award winner is French director:

Antoine Carpentier for his extraordinary work in the Short Film Caron (France)

• The "Best Short Film" award winner is the director:

Michal Szczesniak for the Polish film Boat (Lodka) (Poland)

• "Nostimon Imar" award winner is:

Greek descendant citizen of Germany Costa Kalogiros for the film Apology (Germany)

• The "Best Antiquity film" award winner is the director:

George Petritsis for the documentary film The Seven Sages of Antiquity (Greece)

- BEST ANTIQUITY SPECIAL MENTION for the Music Score to the feature film MEDEA directed by Natalia Kuznetsova(Russia)
- The "Best Animated Film" award winner is the director:

Tomek Bagiński for the magnificently tender yet provoking world he created through his film The Kinematograph(Poland)

• The "Best Dance Film" award winner is the director:

Kimmo Alakunnas for the metaphorical view of modern life through the film An Ant (Finland)

• The "Fair Play" award winners are the directors:

Britney Oldham, Sara London and Talia London for their outstanding film Canoe Pulling – A Lummi way of life(U.S.A.)

• The "Best Greek- Cypriot Film" award winner is the director:

Nick Kapros for the short film Trachoni (Austria/Cyprus)

• The "Audience Short Film" award was given to:

Agis Paikos for the film Ashes of Summer (Cyprus)

 "Veteran's Award": An innovative Award for filmmakers who have directed more than three films. This year's veteran's award was given to the film «Pile Up» by Ferenc Torok (Hungary). The film was selected for this award by Festival's Artistic Director, Tony Srour.

## **Golden Aphrodite Awards**

Significantly important were the films in Competition for Golden Aphrodite. Deriving from different origins, describing entirely different worlds but equally exciting, these films competing for the Festival's grand Prize, stand out as exemplary creative films.

"Best Cinematography in Feature film" award winner is: Jose Manuel Roig for the film Golden Gag (Spain)

"Best Leading Actor in Feature Film" award winner is:

Mert Firat for the performance he delivered in the film Love in a different language (Turkey)

"Best Leading Actress in Feature Film" award winner is:

Efi Logginou for the performance she delivered in the film 45m2 (Greece)

"Best Editing in Feature Film" award winner is:

Moek de Groot for editing the film Bollywood Hero (The Netherlands)

"Best Script in Feature Film" award winner is:

Ilksen Basarır for writing the script of the film Love in a different language (Turkey)

"Best production design in Feature Film" award winners are:

Anton Smit & Hanneke Niens for the production design of the film Bollywood Hero (The Netherlands)

"Best sets/costumes in Feature Film" award winner is:

Monica Celeste for the sets and costumes designed for the film lago (Italy)

"Best Music score in Feature Film" award winner is:
Michele Braga for composing the music score of lago (Italy)
"Best Director in Feature Film" award winner is:
Ilksen Başarır for directing the film Love in a different language (Turkey)
THE AUDIENCE AWARD FOR FICTION FILM WAS GIVEN TO STRATOS TZITZIS FOR HIS FILM 45m2

All in all, this was the 5th edition of Cyprus International Film Festival! The biggest, most anticipated film festival not only in Cyprus but in a wide area was organized for another time in order to move, encharm, entertain and present the most auspicious film trends to the die-hard cinemagoers and to first- timers in getting to know significant pieces of the Seventh Art.

See you at CYIFF 6th Edition!

Thea, At Your Culture!